Lurgy … and bye bye credit card

Woke up this morning and the cold has taken grip. Two hot mugs of Ribena later and having made the usual calls to GW, GC, Feeble and home, went into the office to catch up on my work. Bought new jeans and jumper from Next and updated my stocks of lemsip, facewipes etc. When I went to pay for my parking, the machine swallowed my credit card (I knew I should have paid cash!). Called the guard who came and pressed cancel and found that the machine didn’t give the card back to him either. Therefore, went down to the main kiosk, left my details and asked the man to get the supervisor to retrieve tomorrow and I would come by and pick up. When I got home about half six, phoned credit card company to put a temporary stop on it, only to find that someone had tried to use it for £700 in Carphone Warehouse etc. etc. about ten minutes after I had abandoned it. Not really sure what has happened there – either the machine spit it out much later and some ne’er-do-well pinched it, or the payment machines are some secret cloning machine. Hmmmm. In any case, is OK – no money taken, and replacement card should be with me in about 10 days.
