The Passion of the Christ (2)

Sermon notes from 11 March 2007

John 18:12-27

“You know nothing at all. Nor do you understand that it is better (n.b. Gk. ‘expedient’) for you that one man should die for the people, not that the whole nation should perish”. High Priest Caiaphas (John 11:49-50)

Caiaphas wants to kill a problem.
Read through and see yourself in Peter.

Better

Peter is the best disciple ever. Peter = Rock.
13:37 – everyone would have believed him.
18:15

1) Peter – I am not – vv.12-18
18:17 – slave girl contrast with big Rocky Peter – “I will lay down my life” – what happens? “I am not” – complete failure.

2) Jesus – I am – vv19-24
Jesus alone, but in control. Opennness (taught in the world – synagogue) vs. secrecy (they have hidden in the background, trial takes place at night). An illegal secret trial.

Annas the former High Priest.
Caiaphas – Roman appointed High Priest. Who has authority?
Jesus is the true High Priest – sacrificial victim – cf. Hebrews.

3) Peter – Follow me vv25-27

The next day Jesus dies in Peter’s place/

