Carrot Cake (Light Fruit Cake?)

It has been rather a while since I blogged, I see…., well… I’ll blame ‘busy season’ for that one.

So – the carrot cake. As I am currently being willingly coerced out of my long-standing objections to a number of different vegetables (Reader, I willingly ate cabbage and chard last week), I thought that it was time to revisit my objection to vegetables being mixed with cake.

This recipe (from the BBC Good Food site originally) tastes quite like a light fruitcake. It was better the day after making (although not objectionable then, certainly).

Ingredients
175g light muscovado sugar (I used up some demerera and a little light golden sugar)
175ml sunflower oil (I used extra virgin olive oil, as that’s all I had)
3 large eggs, lightly beaten
140g grated carrots (I chopped them in the food processor)
100g raisins (again, I didn’t have these in, so had half and half sultanas and currants)
grated zest of 1 large orange
175g self-raising flour
1tsp bicarb of soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp grated nuetmeg

Icing:
175g icing sugar
1.5-2 tbsp orange juice

Instructions:
1. Oven on to 180c (160c if fan). Prepare the cake tin (I used a loaf tin).
2. Mix sugar, oil and eggs with a wooden spoon.
3. Stir in carrots, raisins and orange rind
4. Mix the flour, bicarb and spices and then sift into the bowl (I didn’t do this – just popped it into the mixing bowl and let the Magimix do its work)
5. Pour into the tin and bake for 40-45 minutes.
6. When firm and springy, remove from oven, cool in the tin for 5 minutes, then turn out and cool on a wire rack.
7. Beat the icing sugar and OJ together until smooth. The consistency should be approximately as runny as single cream.

