Handbags … and being a godly wife

I am working through The Briefing‘s Bible Brief from Dec 2009 on 1 Peter at the moment and have got to 1 Peter 3:1-6.

The notes suggest looking up Isaiah 3:16-24 and 1 Timothy 2:9-10 to compare and contrast.

Given that I am currently surrounded by boxes of things to declutter in the study, The Husband was particularly interested in Isa 3:22 and suggested that it might just be a word from the Lord…. (three handbags currently awaiting a taker on Freecycle and four more that I just can’t part with now back in storage to be used at a later date…). All things will pass away.

Two verses stand out for me to pray through (and work on):

v4 – let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious;

v6b And you are her [Sarah’s] children, if you do good and do not fear anything that is frightening.

It’s very easy for me to be more concerned with achieving x,y,z and neglect the hidden person of the heart. I won’t even start on how many different things I get anxious about. As someone (I forget who, now) said at NWA10 – Anxiety is a sin (because it’s not trusting God).

I like the Bible. Best food ever.

