Recipe: Oat and pecan biscuits

Makes: 16

Prep time: 10-15 mins

Cooking time: 10-20 mins

Bake at: Gas Mark 4 / Electric Oven 180C / Fan Oven 160C for 10-20 minutes

Ingredients

115g (4oz) butter, softened

80g (3oz) soft dark brown sugar

1 egg

50g (2oz) porridge oats

50g (2oz) pecan nuts, chopped

80g (3oz) plain flour

½ teaspoon of baking powder

Notes

I usually double up all the quantities, otherwise these go too quickly. I am told that they go nicely with coffee.

Although with sponge cakes I’ll happily substitute Stork margarine for butter, with biscuits I try to stick to butter, as I think that I can taste more of a difference.

Occasionally I substitute other sugars – I have made this with demerera sugar to no ill effect.

Most of the ingredients I buy are value range – I can’t tell the difference, and nor can anyone else, it seems. A recent batch I made used Tesco value butter, Value Porridge Oats from the Co-Op, and plain flour from Lidl. Value ingredients are much cheaper, generally. I’m a fan of the “Downshift Challenge”.

Instructions

  1. Cream the butter and sugar together until light in colour and fluffy. (I use either a wooden spoon for this, or let the Magimix do all the work for me…).
  2. Beat in the egg and then stir in the oats, nuts, flour and baking powder. (Technically the recipe advises that you sieve together the flour and baking powder – I generally don’t – and let the Magimix do all the work). Mix well to a soft dough.
  3. Drop large teaspoonfuls of the mixture onto greased baking sheets/ a baking sheet lined with greaseproof paper, being sure to give them room to spread a little.
  4. Bake for 10-20 minutes until pale golden in colour and then put to cool on a wire rack.
  5. Stored in an airtight container they will remain crisp for about a week.

Like most of my regularly-made cake recipes this is taken (and lightly adapted) from “Best Kept Secrets of the Women’s Institute – Cakes and Biscuits”.

