Recipe: Chilli chicken with coriander

Relatively easy to make if you’ve got a decent stock of spices in (thank you the ever splendid http://www.spice-master.com). This was lovely – and just to note that it does need the 1tsp sugar – when I tasted it (new development in cooking skills, there) it was just a touch sharp.

I made this last summer and am pleased to have found the recipe again (From August 2010 BBC Good Food, but not available on the BBC Good Food website (http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/) as far as I can see, sadly.)

Serves 4, Prep 15 mins, Cook 20 mins.

Ingredients:

2-3tbsp vegetable oil

2 onions, finely sliced (although these days, I tend to use frozen diced onions as they save time, tears and not much difference in price)

4 whole cloves

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped (almost certainly I used more – 4 cloves is generally my starting point..)

2 cardamom pods

5cm piece of ginger, peeled and grated (I’m always slightly bemused by descriptions of how much ginger to use – ginger varies quite a bit in girth, so just telling me ‘5cm’ is not massively helpful – also, is this before or after peeling?)

1 cinnamon stick

1 bay leaf

1 tsp ground coriander

1 tsp chilli powder

4 chicken breasts, cut into cubes

4 tomatoes, chopped (almost certainly substituted for some Asda Smartprice Chopped Tomatos in this house..)

200ml chicken stock

2 red chillies, finely chopped

1 tsp sugar,

Rice, naan breads, chopped chilli and coriander leaves, to serve.

 

Method:

1. Heat the oil in a large pan and fry the onions, cloves, garlic and cardamom for 2 mins. Add the ginger, cinnamon, bay leaf, ground coriander, chilli powder and seasoning and cook for a futher 3 mins. Add the chicken and cook, stirring occasionally, for 8-10 mins or until cooked through.

2. Stir in the tomatoes, stock, red chillies and sugar. Taste and adjust the seasoning, then cook for 5 mins. Serve with plain rice and naan, topped with chopped chilli and coriander leaves.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Chilli chicken with coriander

  1. Sounds delish! Though I’m a bit anti-spice (sad, I know, I just don’t tolerate them well). I wonder if it would work if I left out the red chiles?

    • I expect so – I am reading a Madhur Jaffrey book at the moment, and she says that chillis just provide heat, with the rest of the spices providing flavouring, so if you don’t like heat, just leave them out.

Comments are closed.