Recipes under £1/head: Sausage and Potato Casserole

This recipe is from my sister, who reckons that it costs £6.08 for about 5-6 portions (she makes it for herself, my brother in law, and my nephew – hereafter known as ‘The Ogre’).  If you bought non-basics/value meat it would be a touch more expensive, no doubt.

================================================================================

Potato & Sausage casserole

1 tbsp veg oil
4 bacon rashers cut into 1″ pieces (I used basics cooking bacon, which is really cheap)
2 large onions, chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
8 large pork sausages
4 large baking potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
1/4 tsp fresh sage (didn’t use I have to say)
1/2 pt veg stock
salt & pepper
Bread (to serve, I was just going to have it as it is).

I added a layer of sliced parsnip and carrots to the base below the potatoes to include some veg and bulk it out.

Preheat oven to 180C
Lightly grease large, shallow, earthenware baking dish (pref one with a lid)
Heat oil in frying pan
Add bacon and fry for 2 mins
Add onion and fry for 5-6 mins until golden
Add garlic and fry for 1 min
remove the mix and set aside
Fry sausages in same pan for 5-6 mins until golden-brown
Arrange potatoes (+root veg slices) in the base of the dish, spoon bacon and onion mix on top.  season with S&P and sprinkle on sage.  Add stock.  Put sausages on top.
Cover and bake for about 1 hour, or until potatoes and sausages are tender.

Serve hot +/- crusty bread.

Costings:

Half pack of of basics bacon, whole pack I think about £1
12 sausages (sainsburys butchers choice, 12 for £2 on offer, normally £3 I think)
Just under half a bag of potatoes, so about 900g-1kg, about 75p (poss less)
4 carrots (basics, bag is about £1 for a kilo, so say about 40p for my 4)
2 large parsnips, loose, not sure how much they came to, but say £1 at most (I imagine less)
3 stock cubes (oxo from 12 pack, which is about £1.50 I think, so say 40p again)
4 onions, from a bag of about 12 which was £1, so 33p
a squirt of garlic from a puree tube – say 20p at most (am guessing now!)
so I make that 1+2+0.75+0.40+1+0.40+0.33+0.20 = £6.08 with overestimates, so about £1 (or less) per head, although would prob add bread for 6 adults eating this.  but given I went with high guesses, can’t be far off.
=================================================================================
